For immediate help, please call the Manitoba Suicide Helpline Toll Free 1(877) 435-7170

MB Regions

Manitoba Health, Healthy Living and Seniors supports suicide prevention throughout the province by funding local suicide prevention committees. These committees bring together professionals from a variety of sectors and local champions interested in promoting positive mental health and preventing the tragedy of suicide. Youth suicide prevention committees host education and awareness events and promote local services to support those who may be thinking of suicide or struggling with mental health problems. Schools are encouraged to work jointly with their local suicide prevention committees in their mental health promotion and suicide prevention efforts. Below is a list of suicide prevention committees in Manitoba and contacts for each.

Churchill Suicide Prevention Team

(Churchill Health Centre – Division of WRHA)
Contact name: Jennifer Spencer
Phone: 204-675-8357
Email: jspencer4@wrha-ch.ca

 

Winnipeg Suicide Prevention Network

Contact: Nancy Parker
Phone: 204-330-1785.

 

Central Youth Suicide Prevention Committee

Contact: Jennifer Merasty, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 204-822-2662
Email: jmerasty@southernhealth.ca
Website: www.areyouok.ca

 

Brandon and Area Suicide Prevention Implementation Network (SPIN)

Contact: Jill Brown, Chair
Phone: 204-578-2713
Email: jbrown1@pmh-mb.ca
Website: www.spinbrandon.ca

 

Out of the Blue

Contact: OutoftheBlue@southernhealth.ca

OR

Contact:Kim Heidinger, Manitoba Schizophrenia Society
Phone: 204-371-0824
Email: eastmanmss@mymts.net
Website: www.outoftheblue-jasonsdesblues.ca

 

Interlake-Eastern Suicide Prevention Committee

Contact: Elaine Vincent, Chair.
Phone: 204-345-1236.

 

Parkland Suicide Prevention Task Force

Contact: Pat Searle
Phone: 204-622-6256
Email: psearle@pmh-mb.ca

 

HOPE North Suicide Prevention Committee (Thompson and area)

Contact: Liz Lychuk, Co-chair
Phone: 204-778-6513 (ext. 225)
Email: elychuk@nrha.ca

OR

Contact:Jennifer Whalen, Co-chair
Phone: 204-778-1589
Email: jwhalen@nrha.ca
Facebook Page: HOPE North Suicide Prevention Committee

 

HOPE North- Flin Flon, Cranberry Portage and Snow Lake

Contact: Ben Salins
Phone: 204-6813134
Email: bsalins@nrha.ca

OR

Contact: Jill Rideout
Phone: 204-687-7506
Email: jrideout@ffsd.mb.ca

 

Assiniboine RHA – First Nation Community Youth Suicide Prevention Committee

Contact: Tess Lelond, Chair
Phone: 204-578-2486
Email: tlelond@pmh-mb.ca

 

The Pas and area, Suicide Prevention & Awareness Committee (S.P.A.C.)
Contact: Charles Gregoire (Chair), Community Mental Health Clinician
Phone: 204-623-9639
Email: cgregoire@nrha.ca